Archive for October 18, 2008

How would you eat vegemite?

 Many Japanese people don’t like vegemite.  I think it’s because vegemite tastes nothing like the food they’ know.  When I was working at a hotel in Perth city few years ago, I saw this Japanese tourist in the restaurant.  He was spreading thick layer of vegemite on a toast. I thought “ummm isn’t it too much??” but I didn’t say anything.  When he took a bite, his face changed :p  He rushed to get some water and through the rest of vegemite toast away.  I guess he thought the vegemite was some kind of chocolate spread.  Too bad…

At first I didn’t like vegemite at all.  It just tasted weired to me.  But now, I sometimes get craving for it.  One piece of toast and very little amount of vegemite, it’s actually nice:)

My favorite is toasted vegemite and Jarlsberg cheese on panini:)  Sooooo nice!  Sometimes I get vegemite+cheese scrolls from bakery in the morning too.  

I hear some people eat vegemite on…

– Celery

– Crackers with cheese

– SAO biscuits with butter so when you squeeze the 2 bickies together you get brown and yellow worms

– Toast with seeded mustard and mayo

– Mushrooms

– Bannana 

– Toast with sliced tomatoes and cheese

The last one (tomato and cheese) actually sounds nice:)  Talking about it makes me want to eat vegemite :p  The important point is THIN layer, if you eat too much vegemite you will need few glasses of water:p

I saw vegemite milkshake on menu board in a cafe and it actually creeps me out (><)

Vegemite recipes -> http://www.vegemite.com.au/vegemite/page?siteid=vegemite-prd&locale=auen1&PagecRef=651

Comments (2)